ODE TO MARGARET FULLER, a talk by Rev. Michael Barnett for Voices of Women in Philadelphia, PA

On Sunday, October 20, 2013, at 2 pm at the Brandywine Workshop, 728 S. Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA, I will be speaking on the extraordinary life and work of Transcendentalist, women’s rights activist, and social justice champion Margaret Fuller. My ongoing focus centers on her evolving intuitive/spiritual nature and how she achieved the sacred marriage in her life. I will highlight her monumental achievements with my ode to Margaret. For twelve years, I have been speaking and teaching on the Transcendentalists Emerson, Margaret Fuller, and Unitarian minister Theodore Parker. I was invited to celebrate Margaret Fuller’s Bicentennial in 2010 by speaking at First Parish of Concord, the Summer Conversational Series of the Concord School of Philosophy at Louisa May Alcott’s Orchard House, and during the 2010 Unitarian Universalist History Collegium in Waltham, MA.

Please join me in this exciting and inspiring journey into the creative and spiritual life of the most brilliant woman in 1840s America! Only Edgar Allan Poe matched her as an outstanding national literary critic.

I work as an interfaith minister, educator, and poet/teaching artist. I specialize in helping people come into their creative and spiritual/intuitive gifts. I achieved my Master of Divinity Magna Cum Laude at Moravian Theological Seminary and earned my Master of Education Master Teacher from Gwynedd-Mercy College where I taught religious studies. I offer special workshops discovering your intuition and living the sacred marriage. My articles on Margaret Fuller have been published in the Universalist Herald and the Journal of Unitarian Universalist History. Please be in touch if you would like me to speak on Margaret Fuller and her unique circle of colleagues and friends for your special programs and events.

Image

Leave a Reply

